This is starting to get ridiculous.
At TPC Sawgrass’ 18th hole on Saturday, Zach Johnson accidently hit his tee ball while taking a practice swing with his driver. The ball looked to sail into the crowd after hitting Johnson’s driver’s toe.
Zach Johnson did it AGAIN 🤦♂️ pic.twitter.com/geKHKMMW0X
— PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) March 12, 2022
Johnson was not penalized because Rule 6.2b stipulates that a ball is not in play from the teeing area until a stroke is made. He’s fully aware of that rule, as he’s done something similar in front of television cameras not once, but twice.
Last month at the WM Phoenix Open, he shot a tee ball by accident, and during the 2019 Masters, he hit a drive by mistake on Augusta National’s 13th hole, his ball hitting the tee marker and ricocheting back across the teeing ground.
Johnson either moves back a few inches when practicing his swings at this point, or he leans in and does something ceremonial to kick off next year’s Ryder Cup in Italy.
Leave a Reply